Elegant Meets Whimsy

IMG_1242

Movies and Weddings are actually quite similar.

I work in the movie industry and one thing I’ve discovered about weddings is that they’re not that dissimilar to movie productions. Both require budgets, an enormous amount of prep, a creative vision, a development period during which that vision is crafted and honed, and also collaboration with various parties, all of whom have agendas that are sometimes not easy to work with!

They both also service one particular goal: creating a contained, emotional experience. Sure, movie productions take many weeks, if not months to actually shoot, and then even more time to edit and market, but like a wedding, the experience of watching a movie, like that of being at a wedding, actually lasts only a short period of time. What’s quite beautiful about both movies and weddings is that fact that all the effort goes towards making something that provides a lasting, emotional memory, which hopefully will be cherished and thought on with complexity for years to come (for weddings, hopefully these memories will last for a lifetime).

IMG_0697
A friend’s wedding venue!

So with that said, knowing that I’ve paralleled the process of putting a movie together with that of planning my wedding, here’s how I’ve organized:

Movie Goal: Before we make a movie, we obviously know what it is! We have a script and know what the genre is. We also have a rough sense of how much we think it’s going to cost.

Wedding Goal: In the case of my wedding (and probably most peoples’ weddings) cost was something my fiance and I thought about first. The average wedding in Los Angeles costs in the $50,000 range and while I’d love to say Josh and I have that, the sad truth is that the bank where my student loan sits raking up interest has that money instead! Josh and I decided we could come up with about $15,000 for the wedding. You might be thinking, “Hmmm, that’s a huge difference, how are you going to do this?” That’s good you’re thinking that, because I am too! In all seriousness though, we elicited some help from Josh’s parents so that’ll factor in.

Outside of cost, the genre, or theme of our wedding has somewhat been dictated by location. We opted for a place in the desert, but I’ll get to that in a second. Making a decision on a movie script largely comes down to taste. I rarely say “yes” to a script unless I really love it, so as that relates to my wedding, I wanted to make sure I wasn’t compromising heavily on my original dreams simply because of circumstances. I didn’t want to look back on my wedding and be regretful. After all, in this day and age, you can do just about anything if you have creativity and persistence.

The theme of our wedding will:

Elegant Desert Whimsy

*Elegant: Pleasingly graceful and stylish in appearance or manner.” *Desert (duh), *Whimsy: playfully quaint or fanciful behavior or humor.” 

IMG_0160
Josh pretending to play football in the huge front yard of our venue.

 

Movie Development: The majority of my job consists of development. I spend, sometimes an inordinate amount of time working on the story of a script in the service of making sure the experience of watching the movie will be as enjoyable as it can possibly be. (I could write pages on this, but I’ll spare you!)

Wedding Development: I would say the work I’ve done during the last year of my engagement has been on wedding development. I’ve collected tons of pins, I’ve tried on wedding dresses, I’ve experimented with nail color, I’ve looked at china and priced out tables, and venues and just about everything.

IMG_0918
My favorite color so far. Essie: “Oui Madame”

Now that I’ve gathered pieces of my vision into various places, mostly here: TShickWeddingPins I’m going to spend this blog putting them into Prep for the big day.

Next blog post, I’ll break down my proposed day-of timeline. This will help me get a sense of the “story” of my day.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

